top of page

Speaker at an international conference: the American Academy of Advertising

Back home after my first international conference.

Apparently, even researchers from the other side of the world are interested in my research!

I will save you the dreadful experience of terrible flight- and luggage problems (never book with British Airlines!!!).

Instead, I will take you behind the scenes to my absolute favorite moments :)

I met one of the most interesting men that probably walk this earth. His name is Ron Faber, he is a retired researcher and a "barrel full of knowledge" -as we say in Dutch.

We've spent hours discussing his research and it was incredible!


I also got to know another man a lot better. Again a retired researcher - I know, I seem to have a type ;) -, who is actually from my own university and even my own department. His (quite famous) name is Patrick de Pelsmacker - "PeeDeePee" for his very good friends. Due the COVID-lockdowns, I didn't have the chance to really get to know him before he retired. This changed during my days in Denver.

Do I really know him now? Perhaps not really really well. But after several Starbucks cappuccino's discussing a variety of topics (from his weekly cycling trips to his pride for his son), about 15 kilometers of walking and talking (over work and other things), visiting the International Church of Cannabis (!!!) together (*they don't really have cannabis, relax... still an atlete ;)*) and a very very nice pizza... I think that forms a bond, right? At least I


learned a lot. He was probably just passing the time ;)


3 weergaven0 opmerkingen

Recente blogposts

Alles weergeven
bottom of page